Friday, 22 April 2016

De Gea In PFA Team of The Year


Manchester United goalkeeper David De Gea has
been named in the PFA Team of the Year for the
third time in his career, capping yet another
excellent campaign for the Spaniard.

Every player from the 20 Premier League clubs
voted to decide the 2015/16 starting XI and this is
the third time De Gea has been involved, having
previously made the cut in 2012/13 and 2014/15.

United’s influential no.1 is the only member of
Louis van Gaal’s squad to be involved in the team
that is dominated by four players each from title
rivals Leicester City and Tottenham Hotspur, with
the two remaining places going to Arsenal’s Hector
Bellerin and West Ham’s Dimitri Payet.

PFA Team of the Year: David De Gea (Manchester
United), Hector Bellerin (Arsenal), Wes Morgan
(Leicester City), Toby Alderweireld (Tottenham
Hotspur), Danny Rose (Tottenham Hotspur), Riyad
Mahrez (Leicester City), Dele Alli (Tottenham
Hotspur), N’Golo Kante (Leicester City), Dimitri
Payet (West Ham United), Harry Kane (Tottenham
Hotspur), Jamie Vardy (Leicester City).

As is tradition, the PFA had planned to reveal their
many Teams of the Year on Sunday night at its
annual awards dinner, but they were forced to
release them all on Thursday after the Premier
League side was leaked in a photograph on social
media. A statement on the organisation's website
“The PFA is disappointed that a member of the
public has chosen to deliberately leak our
representative teams from the official brochure of
the Awards Evening.

“As a matter of urgency, we are seeking a detailed
explanation from the brochure printers as to how
they were able to secure a copy of the publication.

“The unveiling of the PFA representative teams is
eagerly awaited by our members and football fans
throughout the country and we hope that the
unfortunate leak does not affect the wide-ranging
debate and discussion which accompanies their
normal release on the day of the event.”

Of course, De Gea is among the leading
contenders to win the Sir Matt Busby Player of the
Year award at United’s upcoming prize night on 2
May. You can cast your vote via


Post a Comment